Decluttering v2.0

I’ve found myself with some spare time this weekend, in between going for two runs, putting in some overtime at work and visiting the local farmer’s market.

So, I ended up tackling one of the ‘hot spots’ in our house – the space between the end of the couch and the bookshelf. It’s where things end up being dumped when I realise that the couch needs to be cleared in a hurry.

What is a hot spot? In decluttering terms, it’s one of these…

By hot spots, I mean the areas of the house which are used frequently and require regular attention to keep them under control. (www.planningwithkids.com)

Clutter naturally gravitates towards hot spots

Mine had all sorts of things in it… the most interesting finds were:

  • a collection of toy guns that I vaguely remembered collecting from the Western-themed work conference earlier this year (kept the best one, op-shopped the rest)
  • an assortment of card-making stock and accessories (given to a friend)
  • a Max dress that I was given that is far too small for me (op-shop)
  • another dress that I was given that is far too big for me (op-shop)
  • something that was knitted, green and fluffy. A UFO maybe? (op-shop… maybe they will know what it is)
  • an assortment of Tupperware containers (back into the kitchen!)
  • a cloth badge celebrating the centenary of GirlGuiding New Zealand (I’ve since arranged to swap it with someone in Birmingham, UK, for a Roald Dahl-themed one)

After about an hour of hard work, I’ve finished that hot spot. Now to tackle some of the others: particularly under the couch and in front of the cupboards in the garage!

What sort of interesting things have you found while decluttering?

This entry was posted in Minimalism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Decluttering v2.0

  1. This gave me a nudge to tackle my hotspots. Oh….

  2. _tania says:

    It motivated me to keep going as well – I just finished up the long-overdue task of claiming back the space in front of the garage cupboards! Only took an hour – and I’d been putting it off for six months!

Leave a Reply

