Next exit… Christchurch!

Yes, it’s been a while since I updated this blog… almost two months, in fact.

But, there is a good reason for the silence!

When Andrew and I started this blog, our dream was to inspire ourselves and others to live a better life, a more fulfilling life, with less stuff.

Next month, we are taking a big step in that journey – by moving from Auckland (a big city) to Christchurch (a smaller city).

Christchurch was devastated by two major earthquakes in 2010 and 2011. 185 people lost their lives, 1000 commercial buildings have been condemned and 10,000 houses will need to be demolished. The city is still in a massive state of flux 2 years after the event.

So why are we leaving the safety of Auckland and moving down to Christchurch, where rents are through the roof and jobs are hard to find?

– Andrew has always yearned to live outside of Auckland. I wasn’t ready before, but now I am.

– I have reached the proverbial ‘glass ceiling’ with my job – I have thoroughly enjoyed what I do, but my desire is to manage people, and that’s not going to happen in my current job.

– I am passionate about being part of the biggest economic recovery that New Zealand has ever seen. It’s not going to be easy, but it’s going to be worth it.

– Christchurch is an incredible outdoor playground. Rafting, tramping (hiking), mountain biking, skiing… you name it, it’s within two hours of Christchurch!

Obviously there is a huge amount that we need to organise – temporary accommodation, a new job for me, moving our houseload and our cat 1000 kilometres (600 miles) to the other end of the country… but, it is an adventure.

“The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.”
― Eleanor Roosevelt

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

